Requirements for Acquiring Auto Insurance
SafeAuto wants to help you get the lowest possible auto insurance rates. Being familiar with your state's financial responsibility requirements is an easy way to start. Here is the most recent information for Arizona:
The minimum amount of liability insurance coverage required to satisfy Arizona's Financial Responsibility law is 15,000/30,000/10,000. This means that your insurance policy must insure you against loss in an accident where you have been determined to be at-fault for a minimum of:
- Fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000) because of bodily injury to or death of one (1) person in any one (1) accident
- Thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) because of bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, subject to the fifteen thousand dollar($15,000) per person limit
- Ten thousand dollars ($10,000) because of injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident
Under Arizona law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility in the following circumstances:
- At the request of a law enforcement officer at the time of an accident or traffic stop
- When registering a vehicle
To ensure drivers continue to meet the Financial Responsibility requirements, Arizona requires insurance companies to notify the Arizona Department of Transportation: Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) of all policy issuances, cancellations or non-renewals. If your insurance company sends the MVD a notice that your policy is no longer active, the MVD will send you an inquiry notice to verify insurance status.
Failure to produce evidence of Financial Responsibility at the request of a law enforcement officer investigating an accident or during a traffic stop can result in monetary penalties as follows:
- $500 fine for the first violation and suspension of your driver's license, registration and plates for three months
- $750 fine for the second violation within 36 months and suspension of your driver's license, registration and plates for six months
- $1,000 fine for the third violation within 36 months and suspension of you driver's license, registration and plates for one year
To reinstate these privileges, you may be required to pay fees and submit future proof of Financial Responsibility to the MVD. The future proof requirement is most commonly an SR-22 issued by an insurance company.
Certificate of Financial Responsibility (SR-22):
An SR-22 is a certification of future proof of Financial Responsibility issued by your insurance company to the MVD that provides proof that you purchased liability insurance. The following circumstances may require a person to have an SR-22:
- To reinstate a suspended license after the person fails to pay an accident judgment
- To reinstate a suspended license after the person fails to maintain proof of Financial Responsibility
- To reinstate a suspended license after a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) conviction
- To reinstate your license after implied consent violation
If you are required to maintain a certificate of Financial Responsibility, your insurance company is required to provide the MVD with at least ten (10) days advance notice before termination. SafeAuto will only issue an Arizona SR-22 to Arizona residents.
Other helpful things to know about Arizona's Financial Responsibility laws:
Arizona allows residents to de-insure certain owned vehicles. De-insurance is a method of temporarily not maintaining the required insurance on a vehicle you own or lease that is temporarily not being used until it is ready to be driven or placed on the road again. A de-insured vehicle will not be suspended due to lack of insurance unless it is driven on the Arizona roadways. To de-insure your vehicle, you must complete the De-Insured Certificate form located on the Arizona Department of Transportation website.
Link to Arizona Department of Transportation
If you have any further auto insurance questions please visit the FAQ page
or contact the SafeAuto Customer Service Department