LOOKING FOR COLORADO STATE MINIMUM CAR INSURANCE?
We offer Colorado car insurance across the entire centennial state! If you're looking for state minimum Colorado auto insurance, you can get a free car insurance quote online or by calling a dedicated SafeAuto customer service representative at 1-800-SAFEAUTO. Customer service is available 24/7 to assist you with your quote or answer any insurance questions you may have so you can get Colorado car insurance today.
Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties
Under Colorado law, you are required to provide documentary proof of financial responsibility prior to operating a motor vehicle. If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, ranging from first offense penalties of a $50 to $500 and five (5) days up to six (6) months in county jail.
Insurance companies are required to notify the Colorado Department of Revenue of each policy issued, and provide updates every six (6) months.
In addition to these statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.
Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles
If you have any further car insurance questions about how to get Colorado auto insurance, please visit the FAQ page or contact the SafeAuto Customer Service Department at CSD@safeauto.com.