Requirements for Acquiring Alabama Car Insurance

While SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in Alabama, we can help you find the affordable car insurance coverage you need.

If your "Sweet Home" is in Mobile, Montgomery or anywhere in between, SafeAuto® wants to help you find auto coverage that can meet your needs. A good starting point is understanding the minimum requirements for liability insurance in Alabama:

Alabama’s Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least: 

  • $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
  • $50,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, subject to the $25,000 per person limit
  • $10,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in an accident

Such coverage is often written as 25/50/10 or 25,000/50,000/10,000.

Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties

Under Alabama law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials.

Insurance companies are required to notify the Alabama Department of Insurance Commissioner whenever a policy is issued, cancels or non-renews. The Department will then request verification of coverage from you.

If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, ranging from first offense penalties of suspension of vehicle registration and driver’s license and those penalties associated with a Class C misdemeanor.

In addition to these statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.