While SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in Wyoming; we can help you find the Alaska car insurance coverage you desire. Click here to see Alaska auto insurance rates. 

If your home is in Ketchikan, Fairbanks or anywhere in between, SafeAuto® wants to help you find Alaska auto coverage that can meet your needs.  A good starting point is understanding the minimum requirements for liability insurance in Alaska:

Alaska’s Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least

  • $50,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
  • $100,000 because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, subject to the $25,000 per person limit
  • $25,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident

Such coverage is often written as 50/100/25 or 50,000/100,000/25,000

Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties

Under Alaska law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials.

If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, including suspension of your driver’s license for 90 days to one year.

In addition to statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.

So, while SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in the Land of the Midnight Sun, we can help you find the affordable Alaska auto insurance you need.
Helpful information on the Alaska auto insurance page was found at: