Delaware Auto Insurance
SafeAuto wants to help you find cheap auto insurance in your area. While SafeAuto does not currently offer direct coverage in Delaware, we can still help you find the affordable coverage you need.
REQUIRED COVERAGES IN DELAWARE
Liability insurance covers bodily injury and property damage claims resulting from an accident that is primarily your fault. The limits in your policy are the maximum amounts your insurance company will pay for bodily injury and property damage claims.
Delaware's Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits* of at least:
$15,000 | Bodily Injury per Person
The first number is the maximum amount that your policy will pay for bodily injury to or death of one (1) person in any one (1) accident.
$30,000 | Bodily Injury per Accident
The maximum amount that your policy will pay for bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, subject to the $15,000 per person limit.
$15,000 | Property Damage
The maximum amount that your policy will pay for injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident.
*Liability limits are typically expressed as three amounts separated by slashes written as 15/30/15 or 15,000/30,000/15,000.
Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties
Under Delaware law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials.
Car insurance companies are required to notify the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles whenever coverage terminates within the first six (6) months. The DMV randomly selects vehicle owners to provide proof of insurance, and failure to provide proof can result in immediate suspension of your vehicle registration and payment of a penalty.
If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested on the road, the penalties can be even harsher, with fines ranging from $1,500 to $4,000, and a license suspension of six months.
In addition to these statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.
RELATED LINKSDelaware Division of Motor Vehicles
Play It Safe with SafeAuto Insurance
Have a question for us at SafeAuto? Need to start a policy? Just want to talk? Call us at 1-800-SAFEAUTO or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. For common questions, please consult our FAQ page.