Whether you're looking to start new coverage or switch to SafeAuto, you'll want to make sure you have the minimum auto insurance coverage that Georgia law requires. SafeAuto can help you get cheap car insurance rates that meet Georgia's state minimum requirements. Start your free car insurance quote online today!

Required Coverages

Georgia's Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least:

  • $25,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one (1) person in any one (1) accident
  • $50,000 because of bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, subject to the $25,000 per person limit
  • $25,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident
Such coverage is often written as 25/50/25 or 25,000/50,000/25,000

Proof Of Financial Responsibility & Penalties

Georgia does not consider an insurance card acceptable proof of insurance coverage. Instead, law enforcement officers and other state employees are able to electronically verify the insurance status for any vehicle that is registered in Georgia using the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System (GEICS). Maintaining valid insurance at all times is very important. Your insurance status may be verified under the following circumstances:

  • A law enforcement officer may verify your status while you are operating your vehicle, detained at a traffic stop, or when you are involved in an accident
  • When you register for, replace or renew your vehicle tag
To ensure drivers continue to meet the Financial Responsibility requirements, Georgia requires insurance companies to notify the Georgia Department of Driver Services when a person buys insurance, adds or deletes a vehicle or terminates coverage. If the Department of Driver Services is advised that insurance has been terminated, they may request written proof of coverage.

Penalty for Failure to Comply with Georgia's Financial Responsibility Requirements:

Failure to maintain proper insurance could lead to the suspension or revocation of your vehicle registration. If an uninsured vehicle is detected by law enforcement or if the vehicle is involved in an accident, the owner will also be subject to fines and vehicle impoundment.

The following is required to reinstate a suspended vehicle registration:

  • First Occurrence:

    • Obtain and keep continuous Georgia liability insurance coverage on the vehicle
    • Pay a $25.00 lapse fee
    • Pay a $60.00 reinstatement fee
    • Pay any other registration fees and vehicle ad valorem taxes due
  • Second Occurrence During any Five-Year Period:

    • Mandatory suspension of the vehicle's registration for ninety days
    • Obtain and keep continuous Georgia liability insurance coverage on the vehicle
    • Pay a $25.00 lapse fee
    • Pay a $60.00 reinstatement fee
    • Pay any vehicle registration fee and ad valorem taxes that may be due
  • Third Occurrence During any Five-Year Period:

    • Mandatory suspension of the vehicle's registration for six months
    • Obtain and keep continuous Georgia liability insurance coverage on the vehicle
    • Pay a $25.00 lapse fee
    • Pay a $160.00 reinstatement fee
    • Pay any vehicle registration fee and ad valorem taxes that may be due
Additional penalties may apply if the vehicle's registered owner is convicted of driving a vehicle with a suspended or canceled registration.

Certificate of Financial Responsibility (SR-22):

An SR-22 is a certification of future proof of Financial Responsibility issued by your insurance company to the state providing proof that you purchased liability insurance. The following circumstances may require a person to have an SR-22: 
  • To reinstate a suspended license after the person fails to pay an accident judgment
  • To reinstate a suspended license after the person fails to maintain proof of Financial Responsibility
  • To reinstate a suspended license after a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) conviction; or
  • To reinstate a suspended license after any offense that requires a mandatory license suspension
SafeAuto does not currently issue SR-22s in Georgia.

Registered Owner - Voluntarily Cancellation of Vehicle's Registration:

A vehicle's registered owner may cancel their vehicle's registration at the Tax Commissioner's office in the county in Georgia where they reside when the vehicle is not driven. The County Tax Commissioner's office accepting the cancellation request will enter the required information (date registration canceled) on the vehicle's record to stop any lapse and reinstatement fees from being assessed. To avoid lapse and reinstatement fees from being assessed, the vehicle's registered owner must cancel their vehicle's registration before or at the same time the vehicle's mandatory liability insurance coverage is canceled.

Military Personnel - Voluntary Cancellation of Registration:

A service member, deployed on official military duty, may cancel their vehicle's registration when the vehicle is not going to be driven on the public roads and highways of Georgia during their absence. The service member should complete, sign and submit a Service Member's Affidavit for Mandatory Insurance Relief to the Tax Commissioner's office in the county in Georgia where they reside. This form may be submitted before, during or after deployment.

Looking for Georgia Auto Insurance?

You can get a free car insurance quote online or by calling a dedicated SafeAuto customer service representative at 1-800-SAFEAUTO. Customer service is available 24/7 to assist you with your quote or answer any insurance questions you may have. 

We offer affordable car insurance throughout the entire Peach State! If you are looking for more information about car insurance in a specific city in Georgia, more material can be found below:

Related Links:

Georgia Department of Driver Services

If you have any further auto insurance questions please visit the FAQ page or contact the SafeAuto Customer Service Department at CSD@safeauto.com.