Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties
Under Hawaii law, you are required to provide documentary proof of financial responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials.
Car insurance companies are required to keep quarterly reports of policy cancellations and refusals to renew, which are available to the Hawaii Insurance Commissioner.
If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, with fines ranging from $500 to $1,500, plus a license suspension.
In addition to these statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.
Hawaii Transportation and Vehicles
If you have any further auto insurance questions please visit the FAQ page or contact the SafeAuto Customer Service Department at CSD@safeauto.com.