Idaho Car Insurance Requirements for Drivers

While SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in Idaho, we can help you find the Idaho car insurance coverage you desire.

If your home is in Boise, Pocatello or anywhere in between, SafeAuto® wants to help you find the Idaho car insurance coverage that can meet your needs. A good starting point for Idaho drivers is to understand the minimum requirements for liability insurance in Idaho:

Idaho’s Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least:

  • $25,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
  • $50,000 because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, subject to the $25,000 per person limit
  • $15,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident

Such coverage is often written as 25/50/15 or 25,000/50,000/15,000

Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties

Under Idaho law, you are required to provide documentary proof of financial responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials.

On January 1, 2014, car insurance companies will be required to notify the Idaho transportation department whenever a policy is issued or terminates for any reason.

If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, with fines ranging from $75 to $1,000, and possible imprisonment for up to six months.

In addition to statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.

So, while SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in the Gem State, we can help you find the Idaho car insurance coverage you need.