Illinois Auto Insurance
From Chicago to Carbondale and every city in between, SafeAuto provides affordable car insurance that fits your life and budget while maintaining the coverage that meets Illinois's minimum requirements for an auto policy.
GET YOUR QUOTE TODAY
JOIN THE SAFEAUTO FAMILY
ENJOY THE ROAD AHEAD!
REQUIRED COVERAGES IN ILLINOIS
Liability insurance covers bodily injury and property damage claims resulting from an accident that is primarily your fault. The limits in your policy are the maximum amounts your insurance company will pay for bodily injury and property damage claims.
Our insurance follows Illinois law requirements, which are to maintain liability limits* of at least:
$25,000 | Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (Per Person)
The first number is the maximum amount that your policy will pay for bodily injury to or death of one (1) person in any one (1) accident. If you are at-fault in an accident this coverage may help pay for the other driver's medical expenses.
$50,000 | Bodily Injury Liability Coverage (Per Accident)
The second number is the maximum amount that your policy will pay for bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, subject to the $25,000 per person limit. If you are at-fault in an accident this coverage may help pay for the other driver's, or their passenger's, medical expenses.
$20,000 | Property Damage Coverage
The third number is the maximum amount that your policy will pay for injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident. If you are at-fault in an accident, this coverage may help pay for damages to the other driver's vehicle.
*Liability limits are typically expressed as three amounts separated by slashes written as 25/50/20 or 25,000/50,000/20,000.
WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR NOT HAVING LEGAL MINIMUM CAR INSURANCE IN ILLINOIS?
The penalty for failure to comply with Illinois's Financial Responsibility Requirements regarding insurance could lead to the following:
- Minimum $500 fine for driving uninsured
- Minimum $1,000 fine for driving a vehicle while the license plates are suspended for a previous insurance violation
- First Offense: $100 reinstatement fee when current evidence of insurance is provided
- Repeat Offenders: Required to serve a four (4) month suspension period, pay the $100 reinstatement fee and provide current evidence of insurance before being eligible for reinstatement
LOOKING FOR ILLINOIS AUTO INSURANCE?
You can get a fast and free car insurance quote online or by calling a SafeAuto customer service representative at 1-800-SAFEAUTO (1-800-723-3288). Our customer service team is ready to assist you with your quote or answer any insurance questions you have.
SafeAuto offers cheap car insurance throughout the entire Prairie state. If you are looking for more car insurance information for a specific city in Illinois, more material can be found below.
- Aurora Auto Insurance
- Chicago Auto Insurance
- Joliet Auto Insurance
- Naperville Auto Insurance
- Rockford Auto Insurance
Play It Safe with SafeAuto Insurance
Have a question for us at SafeAuto? Need to start a policy? Just want to talk? Call us at 1-800-SAFEAUTO or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. For common questions, please consult our FAQ page.