Maine Car Insurance Requirements for Drivers

While SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in Maine, we can help you find the Maine car insurance coverage you desire.

If your home is in Portland, Bar Harbor or anywhere in between, SafeAuto® wants to help you find the Maine car insurance coverage that can meet your needs. A good starting point is understanding the minimum requirements for liability insurance in Maine:

Maine’s Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least:

  • $50,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
  • $100,000 because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, subject to the $50,000 per person limit
  • $25,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident
  • $2,000 because of medical payments incurred by insured driver and passengers of insured vehicle, in any one accident.

Such coverage is often written as 50/100/25 or 50,000/100,000/25,000

Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties

Under Maine law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or after a police report relating to an accident is filed.

If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, including suspension of your driver’s license and/or vehicle registration.

So, while SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in the Pine Tree State, we can help you find the Maine car insurance coverage you need.