Massachusetts Car Insurance Requirements for Drivers

While SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in Massachusetts, we can help you find the Massachusetts car insurance coverage you desire.

If your home is in Boston, Martha’s Vineyard or anywhere in between, SafeAuto® wants to help you find the Massachusetts car insurance that can meet your needs. A good starting point is understanding the minimum requirements for liability insurance in Massachusetts:

Massachusetts Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least:

  • $20,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
  • $40,000 because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, subject to the $20,000 per person limit
  • $5,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident

Such coverage is often written as 20/40/5 or 20,000/40,000/5,000

Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties

Under Massachusetts law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials.

Car insurance companies are required to notify the Massachusetts Registrar of Motor Vehicles whenever the insured fails to maintain an insurance policy. The Registrar will then advise law enforcement authorities, and your vehicle registration and license plates can then be seized.

If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, with fines ranging from $500 to $5,000 and/or imprisonment of up to one year.

So, while SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage along The Freedom Trail, we can help you find the Massachusetts car insurance coverage you need.