Minnesota Car Insurance Requirements for Drivers

While SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in Minnesota, we can help you find the Minnesota car insurance coverage you desire.

If your home is in the Twin Cities, Brainerd or anywhere in between, SafeAuto® wants to help you find the Minnesota car insurance coverage that can meet your needs. A good starting point is understanding the minimum requirements for liability insurance in Minnesota:

Minnesota’s Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least:

  • $30,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
  • $60,000 because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, subject to the $30,000 per person limit
  • $10,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident

Such coverage is often written as 30/60/10 or 30,000/60,000/10,000

Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties

Under Minnesota law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials.

Car insurance companies are required to notify the Minnesota Commissioner of Commerce whenever a policy is issued or terminates. The Commissioner will then request verification of coverage from you.

If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, with fines beginning at $200.

In addition to statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.

So, while SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in the Gopher State, we can help you find the Minnesota car insurance coverage that you need.