Nebraska Car Insurance Requirements for Drivers

While SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in Nebraska, we can help you find the Nebraska car insurance coverage you desire.  

If your home is in Omaha, North Platte or anywhere in between, SafeAuto® wants to help you find auto insurance coverage that can meet your needs.   A good starting point is understanding the minimum requirements for liability insurance in Nebraska:

Nebraska’s Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least

  • $25,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
  • $50,000 because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, subject to the $25,000 per person limit
  • $25,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident

Such coverage is often written as 25/50/25 or 25,000/50,000/25,000

PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY & PENALTIES

Under Nebraska law, you are required to provide documentary proof of financial responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials.

On January 1, 2014, car insurance companies will be required to notify the Nebraska transportation department whenever a policy is issued or terminates for any reason.

If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, including a Class III misdemeanor and suspension of your driver’s license. 

In addition to statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility

So, while SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in the Cornhusker State, we can help you find the Nebraska auto insurance coverage you need.