New Hampshire Auto Insurance
SafeAuto wants to help you find cheap auto insurance in your area. While SafeAuto does not currently offer direct coverage in New Hampshire, we can still help you find the affordable coverage you need.
REQUIRED COVERAGES IN NEW HAMPSHIRE
Liability insurance covers bodily injury and property damage claims resulting from an accident that is primarily your fault. The limits in your policy are the maximum amounts your insurance company will pay for bodily injury and property damage claims.
New Hampshire's Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits* of at least:
$25,000 | Bodily Injury per Person
The first number is the maximum amount that your policy will pay for bodily injury to or death of one (1) person in any one (1) accident.
$50,000 | Bodily Injury per Accident
The maximum amount that your policy will pay for bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, subject to the $25,000 per person limit.
$25,000 | Property Damage
The maximum amount that your policy will pay for injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident.
*Liability limits are typically expressed as three amounts separated by slashes written as 25/50/25 or 25,000/50,000/25,000.
Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties
Under New Hampshire law, you are not required to carry automobile insurance, but you must be able to demonstrate that you are able to provide sufficient funds to meet New Hampshire's Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Requirements in the event your actions cause an accident while operating a motor vehicle, otherwise known as an "at-fault" accident.
If you have been involved in an "at-fault" accident, received a citation for driving while intoxicated, or vehicular homicide or assault, or have had two or more convictions for driving recklessly or at excessive speed, and are unable to provide sufficient funds to meet New Hampshire's minimum requirements, your driving privileges and vehicle registration may be suspended, and you may be required to surrender your vehicle's license plates.
In addition to these statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.
RELATED LINKSNew Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles
Play It Safe with SafeAuto Insurance
Have a question for us at SafeAuto? Need to start a policy? Just want to talk? Call us at 1-800-SAFEAUTO or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. For common questions, please consult our FAQ page.