New Jersey Car Insurance Requirements for Drivers
While SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in New Jersey, we can help you find the New Jersey Car Insurance coverage you desire.
If your home is in Asbury Park, Ocean City or anywhere in between, SafeAuto® wants to help you find auto coverage that can meet your needs. A good starting point is understanding the minimum requirements for liability insurance in New Jersey:
New Jersey’s Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least:
PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY & PENALTIES
Under New Jersey law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials. In addition, insurers must report policy terminations to the DMV.
If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, including driver’s license suspension for up to two years, fines ranging from $300 to $5,000 and possible imprisonment for 14 to 30 days.
In addition to statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.
So, while SafeAuto®
does not currently offer auto insurance
coverage in the Garden State, we can help you find the affordable New Jersey auto insurance
coverage you need.