While SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in New Mexico, we can help you find the New Mexico car insurance coverage you desire. 

If your home is in Las Cruces, Santa Fe or anywhere in between, SafeAuto® wants to help you find New Mexico auto insurance coverage that can meet your needs. A good starting point is understanding the minimum requirements for liability car insurance in New Mexico:

New Mexico’s Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least

  • $25,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
  • $50,000 because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, subject to the $25,000 per person limit
  • $10,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident

Such coverage is often written as 25/50/10 or 25,000/50,000/10,000


Under New Mexico law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials. Additionally, insurers are required to report policy terminations to the Department on a monthly basis.

If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, including suspension of your vehicle registration suspension and fines of up to $300.

In addition to statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.

So, while SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in the Land of Enchantment, we can help you find the affordable New Mexico auto insurance you need.

Helpful Links for this article were obtained from: