North Carolina Car Insurance Requirements for Drivers
While SafeAuto® does not currently offer coverage in North Carolina; we can help you find the North Carolina car insurance
coverage you desire.
If your home is in Raleigh, Asheville or anywhere in between, SafeAuto®
wants to help you find auto coverage that can meet your needs. A good starting point is understanding the minimum requirements for liability insurance in North Carolina
North Carolina’s Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least:
- $25,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
- $50,000 because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, subject to the $25,000 per person limit
- $25,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident
Such coverage is often written as 25/50/25 or 25,000/50,000/25,000
NORTH CAROLINA'S PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY & PENALTIES
Under North Carolina law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials.
Insurance companies are required to notify the North Carolina Department of Insurance whenever a policy is terminated.
If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, including suspension and surrender of your driver’s license.
In addition to statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an Certificate of Financial Responsibility.
So, while SafeAuto®
does not currently offer coverage in the Tar Heel State, we can help you find the affordable North Carolina auto insurance