South Dakota Auto Insurance
SafeAuto wants to help you find cheap auto insurance in your area. While SafeAuto does not currently offer direct coverage in South Dakota, we can still help you find the affordable coverage you need.
REQUIRED COVERAGES IN SOUTH DAKOTA
Liability insurance covers bodily injury and property damage claims resulting from an accident that is primarily your fault. The limits in your policy are the maximum amounts your insurance company will pay for bodily injury and property damage claims.
South Dakota's Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits* of at least:
$25,000 | Bodily Injury per Person
The first number is the maximum amount that your policy will pay for bodily injury to or death of one (1) person in any one (1) accident.
$50,000 | Bodily Injury per Accident
The maximum amount that your policy will pay for bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, subject to the $25,000 per person limit.
$25,000 | Property Damage
The maximum amount that your policy will pay for injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident.
*Liability limits are typically expressed as three amounts separated by slashes written as 25/50/25 or 25,000/50,000/25,000.
Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties
Under South Dakota law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials.
Insurance companies are required to notify the South Dakota Department of Public Safety whenever a policy is issued or terminates. The Department of Public Safety will then request verification of coverage from you.
If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, including suspension of your driver's license and/or vehicle registration. If you operate a motor vehicle while your driver's license and/or vehicle registration is under suspension, you could be charged with a Class 1 or Class 2 misdemeanor, and the length of your suspension can increase.
In addition to these statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.
Play It Safe with SafeAuto Insurance
Have a question for us at SafeAuto? Need to start a policy? Just want to talk? Call us at 1-800-SAFEAUTO or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. For common questions, please consult our FAQ page.