If the place you call home is anywhere across the Lone Star state, you’re in luck! SafeAuto provides cheap auto insurance in Texas that fits your life and budget while maintaining the coverage that meets Texas’ minimum requirements for an auto policy. Whether you reside in one of Texas’ small towns or one of Texas’ largest cities, SafeAuto has got you covered with an affordable car insurance policy with 24/7 access to our customer service team. Start your fast and free car insurance quote online, and join the SafeAuto family today!
Liability insurance covers bodily injury and property damage claims resulting from an accident that is primarily your fault. The limits in your policy are the maximum amounts your insurance company will pay for bodily injury and property damage claims. They are typically expressed as three amounts separated by slashes written as 25/60/25 or 25,000/60,000/25,000
Texas’ law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least:
The first number is the maximum amount that your policy will pay for bodily injury to or death of one (1) person in any one (1) accident.
The maximum amount that your policy will pay for bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more persons in any one (1) accident, subject to the $30,000 per person limit.
The maximum amount that your policy will pay for injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident.
Under Texas law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility in the following circumstances:
To ensure drivers continue to meet the Financial Responsibility requirements, Texas requires insurance companies to provide a weekly report to the TexasSure vehicle identification system, listing the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) of each vehicle insured under an active policy.
Failure to maintain proper insurance could lead to the suspension of your driver's license and fines. Under the Texas Driver Responsibility Program, drivers who are convicted of failure to maintain insurance are required to pay a flat surcharge of $250.00 per year. This surcharge is in addition to any other costs associated with the driving offenses and must be paid yearly for three (3) years. You may also be required to file an SR-22 or SR-22A.
An SR-22 or SR-22A is a certificate of Financial Responsibility issued by your insurance company to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) providing proof that you purchased liability insurance. Drivers who are convicted of one or more of the following offenses may be required to purchase an SR-22 or SR-22A to reinstate their license:
If you are required to maintain a certificate of Financial Responsibility, your insurance company must provide the DPS with at least six (6) days advance notice before termination.
SafeAuto will only issue a Texas SR-22 or SR-22A to Texas residents.
You can get a free car insurance quote online or by calling a dedicated SafeAuto customer service representative at 1-800-SAFEAUTO. Customer service is available 24/7 to assist you with your quote or answer any insurance questions you may have.
SafeAuto offers affordable Texas car insurance throughout the entire Lone Star state! If you are looking for more car insurance information in a specific city across the state of Texas, more material can be found below.