If your home is in Burlington, Bennington or anywhere in between, SafeAuto wants to help you find the cheapest auto insurance in your area. While SafeAuto does not currently offer direct coverage in Vermont, we can still help you get a cheap quote on the insurance coverage you need.
Vermont’s Financial Responsibility law requires you to maintain liability limits of at least:
- $25,000 because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
- $50,000 because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident, subject to the $25,000 per person limit
- $10,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in an accident
Such coverage is often written as 25/50/10
Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties
Under Vermont law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials.
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, with fines beginning at $250.
In addition to statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an Certificate of Financial Responsibility.
If you have any further auto insurance questions please visit the FAQ page
or contact the SafeAuto Customer Service Department