Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties
Under West Virginia law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials. In addition, insurers must report policy terminations to the Department.
If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, including suspension or revocation of your driver’s license and/or vehicle registration, fines ranging from $200 to $5,000 and possible imprisonment for up to one year.
In addition to statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.
West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles
If you have any further auto insurance questions please visit the FAQ page or contact the SafeAuto Customer Service Department at CSD@safeauto.com.