Proof of Financial Responsibility & Penalties
Under Wyoming law, you are required to provide documentary proof of Financial Responsibility when registering your vehicle or at the request of law enforcement officials. In addition, insurers must provide verification of coverage information to the Department when requested.
If you are unable to produce proof of liability coverage when requested, the penalties can be harsh, including fines ranging from $250 to more than $1,500, suspension or revocation of driver’s license and/or vehicle registration suspension and imprisonment for up to six months.
In addition to statutory penalties, if you cannot show proof of financial responsibility, fail to pay a judgment entered against you for damages resulting from an automobile accident, or need to reinstate your license after conviction for certain types of violations, you will be required to obtain an SR-22 Certificate of Financial Responsibility.
Wyoming Department of Transportation
If you have any further auto insurance questions please visit the FAQ page or contact the SafeAuto Customer Service Department at CSD@safeauto.com.